Meet our staff!

November 10, 2010 at 5:52 pm 2 comments

After we made the last customer’s book, swept the glitter off the floor and ordered pizza one night, the entire Scribble Press staff got together to experience what it was like to be a customer. Markers, glue, collage supplies in hand, we found inspiration from our surroundings and each other. Check out some of our cool creations!

Kelly's board bookI chose to write a book using the “If I Were a Rockstar” cueprint. The fill-in-the-blank style of the book helped spark my imagination, which I mixed that with bits and pieces from my real life. The final result was something whimsical but very personal to me… It is officially my new favorite fairytale book! The writing process was a lot of fun, too, and now I understand that excited smile a child gets on his or her face when we hand over their finished product.
Kelly, Santa Monica store

David's placematWhat fun! Sitting down with colleagues, discovering how gifted they all are (far more artistically talented than I), and creating something that my family can enjoy and use as a part of our family dinners together. I went home that night with greater appreciation for my kids artwork and how wonderfully prolific our customers children are and how easily inspiration comes to them in our studio.
David, VP of Operations

Jennifer's board bookWhen we were given a chance to “be a customer,” it was a no-brainer that I’d make a book of family pictures for my dad. Simply titling it “Bob,” I brought it to him in the hospital the next day. Alzheimer’s may have taken away his words, but his smile is ever-present – and his face lit up like a Christmas tree when he looked through the pages. Boy, was I glad I hadn’t just glued the original pictures into an album! (A week or so later, one of the other Alzheimer’s patients walked off with the first copy of book I made.) So, today at work, I’m going to be remaking the book. This time, though, I won’t have just designed it – I’m actually going to build it! I have a sneaking suspicion he’s going to like it just as much the second time.
Jennifer, Director of Educational Programs

Deepa's minicardsI love leaving little notes for my family, friends and boyfriend, so mini-cards were the perfect project. It’s just so much more personal (and looks waaaay cooler) to leave a note on something I created than on a post-it. After starting over several times because my free-hand artistic ability wasn’t cutting it, I found inspiration from our Club Scribble art supplies and created something that’s totally my style – simple, colorful and chic!
Deepa, New York store

Anna's plannerI hadn’t made anything at the store – or even done any drawing – for quite some time, so it was fun to sit down with a bunch of grownups and just be creative. I decided to make a Magical Planner – with a fairy on the front no less – with the idea that any tasks I write down in my magical planner will magically get done. It makes me smile, and every time I look at it I remember to slow down and enjoy what I am doing. Inside all of us is a little kid who just wants to scribble.
Anna, co-founder & CEO

Entry filed under: Staff. Tags: .

‘The stuff of great storymaking’ What kids are making in their Scribble Press classes

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. helene rosenberg  |  December 7, 2010 at 6:30 pm

    What a fantastic website and great idea. The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree. We adore your parents who are obviously so proud of you and what you are doing. I wish I had had a place to go to like you have created when I was young. All the best. Helene Rosenberg

    Reply
  • 2. Anna Barber  |  December 10, 2010 at 11:15 pm

    thanks for the kind comments!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


scribble twitters


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,583 other followers

